Ask Me Anything About World War II

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Corsair48, Oct 17, 2017.

1. Corsair48

Corsair48 Well-Known Member FCN Regular

Money:
    18,518⛀
    I have been studying the Second World War and related topics for over 30 years. My specialty is the Pacific Theater, particularly the naval battles and campaigns. That said, I have not neglected the European Theater.

If you are interested, feel free to ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I know how to find it.

salaciousXcaroline likes this.
  2. CyberGuy69

CyberGuy69 Guest

Always wondered why the Yanks didn't have armoured decks for their carriers like the British did, i'm pretty sure it wasn't due to costs :)

3. Corsair48

Money:
    18,518⛀
    It was a trade off. The British carriers were essentially armored boxes, and the thickness of the armor restricted the number of aircraft the ships were able to operate. In addition to having wooden flight decks, American carriers, starting with USS Ranger (CV-4), had more openings in the bulkheads (walls) -- in fact, the hangar was basically built on the hull rather than inside the hull as in British carriers.

As comparative classes at the beginning the war the British Illustrious class could operate 36 planes while the American Yorktown class could operate 90.

[​IMG]
    In this photo of USS Yorktown (Cv-5), you can see the superimposition of the hangar deck on top of the hull and the shutter doors.

[​IMG]
    This shot of HMS Illustrious presents a different profile, with the hangar clearly as part of the hull, with the hurricane bow.

DamianaMinx and Autonomous like this.
  4. Dcdevon

Dcdevon Well-Known Member FCN Regular

Money:
    59,044⛀
    I've never understood the Japanese alliance with Germany. It seems like making a deal if that's what it was with a government that thinks you are inferior isn't a good move.

5. Male_uk

Male_uk Well-Known Member FCN Regular

Money:
    11,128⛀